by Edward Steen, Secretary-General. Vienna, February 25, 2022

The AEJ has co-signed the statement of solidarity with our colleagues in Ukraine below, and is separately and independently calling for the immediate ban on Russia Today broadcasts in all EU countries as a blatant weapon of mis- and disinformation, among them the falsehood that Ukrainian President Zelensky has been instructed by the USA to flee Kyiv. See resolution.

Germany has already banned RT after Deutche Welle, along with other western news media such as RT/RL, was kicked out of Russia.

William Horsley, AEJ Media Freedom Representative based in London, writes that the statement below, coordinated by Justice for Journalists, has issued the following statement co-signed by the AEJ along with more than 40 media and press freedom organisations.

Issued on the second day of Russia’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine, the statement utterly condemns the state violence and aggression by Russia that puts thousands of journalists in Ukraine in grave danger. It condemns the cyberattacks and disinformation employed by the aggressors against the free Ukrainian media. And the more than 40 signatory organisations send a message of solidarity to those independent Russian media which continue to report the truth in conditions of unprecedented intimidation and pressure in their country.


February 25, 2021

We, the undersigned organisations, stand in solidarity with the people of Ukraine, but particularly Ukrainian journalists who now find themselves at the frontlines of a large-scale European war.

We unilaterally condemn the violence and aggression that puts thousands of our colleagues all over Ukraine in grave danger.

We call on the international community to provide any possible assistance to those who are taking on the brave role of reporting from the war zone that is now Ukraine. 

We condemn the physical violence, cyberattacks, disinformation and all other weapons employed by the aggressor against the free and democratic Ukrainian press. 

We also stand in solidarity with independent Russian media who continue to report the truth in unprecedented conditions.


  1. Justice for Journalists Foundation
  2. Index on Censorship
  3. International Foundation for Protection of Freedom of Speech “Adil Soz”
  4. International Media Support (IMS)
  5. Yerevan Press Club
  6. news
  7. Free Press Unlimited
  8. Human Rights Center “Viasna”
  9. Albanian Helsinki Committee
  10. Media Rights Group, Azerbaijan
  11. European Centre for Press and Media Freedom
  12. Association of European Journalists
  13. School of Peacemaking and Media Technology in Central Asia
  14. Human Rights Center of Azerbaijan
  15. Reporters Without Borders, RSF
  16. Association of Independent Press of Moldova, API
  17. Public Association “Dignity”, Kazakhstan
  18. PEN International
  19. Human Rights House Foundation, Norway
  20. IFEX
  21. UNITED for Intercultural Action
  22. Human Rights House Yerevan
  23. Helsinki Citizens’ Assembly, Vanadzor, Armenia
  24. Rafto Foundation for Human Rights, Norway
  25. Society of Journalists, Warsaw
  26. The Swedish OSCE-network
  27. Hungarian Helsinki Committee
  28. Legal policy research centre, Kazakhstan
  29. Public Foundation Notabene, Tajikistan
  30. HR NGO “Citizens’ Watch, St. Petersburg, Russia
  31. English PEN
  32. Public organization “Dawn”, Tajikistan
  33. International Press Institute (IPI)
  34. The Union of Journalists of Kazakhstan
  35. ARTICLE 19
  36. Human Rights House Tbilisi
  37. Rights Georgia
  38. Election Monitoring and Democracy Studies Center, Azerbaijan
  39. International Service for Human Rights (ISHR)
  40. Bulgarian Helsinki Committee
  41. Global Forum for Media Development (GFMD)
  42. European Federation of Journalists
  43. Social Media Development Center, Georgia
  44. Populus Rei, Georgia